BBC’s switch to Premiere (Adobe loyalists, get your throwing stones ready) (via The Final Rewrite)

10 Sep

man that is bad news for FCP & Apple, isn’t it?

This is quite shocking to me: http://ke-we.net/398I know I haven’t been in the post-production realm as long as others have but this is a huge deal, correct? I’m going to be frank here and probably piss-off a lot of Adobe loyalists, but I’ve never taken Premiere seriously. I’ve always considered it a joke. While I was a freshman in film school (2005) and one of the students was complaining about Avid being confusing, my Editing 101 professor … Read More

via The Final Rewrite

my comment on that:

well i’m a FCP user and i felt / and still feel (a bit) the same way about premiere pro … i know in the end its just another system & workflow and “just” another way doing things … but i tried Premiere CS5 and i don’t fell comfortable with that app ( no Pro feeling for me) … yes you can open up DSLR, RED and HDV footage right away and you can play it even with some fx on it … but they (fx / plugins ar not the same as you can find in FCP … (quality and quantity) … and well maybe is did something wrong but the export took a lot longer as i’m use to in FCP … a lot … (there goes the time advantage (a lil bit) … and many other “lil” things like interface and keyframes and keyboard-layouts ….

so Premiere certainly has a lot to offer but honestly we have no time – with your workload and “well oiled” FCP workflow (we know what we get & deliver for our clients) – to change that workflow “just” for 64bit and a “playback engine” even we have the whole CS5 pack (for AE and stuff) … its easier for me to go in our AVID room ;)

just saying

btw thanks Nate for that blogpost

6 Responses to “BBC’s switch to Premiere (Adobe loyalists, get your throwing stones ready) (via The Final Rewrite)”

  1. nateorloff 10/09/2010 at 01:28 #

    Thanks for the mention! Couldn’t agree more. Premiere just bugs me. The interface gets in my way. Like I said in the post, even if the underlying technologies are there and are impressive, it doesn’t matter if I don’t feel like the actually editing tools are there.

    • Michael 10/09/2010 at 01:37 #

      Exactly!

      • Harold M. 10/09/2010 at 17:17 #

        It would be wise to take into account the kind of content that the BBC plans on producing with this equipment. Is it news packages? If so…Most news programming you’d be able to cut on Imovie if it came down to that. It’s only cuts. No speed changes, no complicated effects, and in most cases, packages are under 3 mins.

        While I have played with its new interface and have been reading about the new features, I haven’t done any work on Premiere since 2001; I understand how this move might be a big deal in the production world and great for Canon and Adobe, but I am trying not to lose sleep over it. I just don’t feel that Premiere is going to shake the post production world like FCP has done in the past 5 years. I mean…I’ve seen entire production houses in Manhattan switch from Avid to FCP. I have seen fortune 500 clients come to me with entire sequences on their laptops, and hire me just to make tweaks and mix their audio. (now that’s scary) I could not imagine Premiere has that kind of power, yet. Correct me if I am wrong.

        Now playing Devil’s advocate, I’d say Premiere should be more intuitive than Dalet. (which Time Warner just swears by: http://www.dalet.com/Time-Warner-Cable-Turns-to-Dalet ). I’ve seen Dalet…and that’s some software that’d surely make an AVID/FPC editor very uncomfortable.

  2. Aaron 16/09/2010 at 21:19 #

    I think a lot of the “uncomfortableness” comes from what you are used to. I’ve been using primarily Premiere for years and can really get around easily in it because I simply have the most experience with it. FCP is fine too but there are functions in it that I find clunky just because they are different. When comparing apps so similar in abilities, it comes down to user preference IMHO.

    In the end, the viewer has no idea how the final product was assembled. Use what you are good at.

    • Michael 16/09/2010 at 22:57 #

      yep you are right … but therefore i can’t “afford” to chance the workflow … u know …we used to work in FCP since 2005 or so maybe even longer … so changing that would be a hugh undertaking

      • Eduardo Sousa 19/09/2010 at 20:51 #

        Go back to Apple`s SHAKE, where is it now?
        PPL moved to NUKE.

        PPL shot 35mm
        now they are shooting RED

        What is the core business of adobe?
        What is the core business of apple?

        Change is around us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,434 other followers

